top of page

Why Hand Shape?

We all know about cnc machines, we know they can create surfboard shapes and some want us to believe they are more accurate than the human hand and eye. Is this true? Yes and no. This is not about bashing modern technology or about me being an "old guy" trained behind a planer scoffing at the new technology, in fact I like cnc machines, I think they are cool and a great tool in our pursuit of surfboard perfection....however I feel a guy trained in the "traditional" sense has a clear advantage over the "scrubbers" that call themselves shapers today. Sorry scrubbers until you've put hours, months, decades mowing foam with a planer you are not a shaper, you might be a kick a$$ designer and programmer which has earned a great deal of respect but sorry you're still not a shaper.

Now does a cnc machine reduce production time, can it be accurate, can it produce a great board? Yes so why do we still hand shape? The simple answer is because we can. I find shaping therapeutic it allows me to connect with the board and rider in ways a computer cannot. We can alter things on the fly, get dusty and experience the gratification of creating something. As much as I like cnc machines I feel sorry for them because they will never understand the satisfaction of creation.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page